Does the model suit your lighting task?
YIFMOO LED ceiling light 50 cm, dimmable, with hard-wired 230 V connection stands in this selection for the main lighting of a living room, bedroom or child's room, only on an existing ceiling supply cable. That is a narrower and more honest statement than a blanket “good” or “bad”. A lamp can be technically decent and still disappoint in the wrong place. This review therefore begins with the intended use, not with a score.
A room feels calmer when not every task depends on a single very bright ceiling light. Ambient light provides orientation, zone lighting brings brightness to a table or armchair, and accent lighting gives walls or furniture depth.
For this model, 6 readable product features from the Amazon listing are available. They are not presented as independently confirmed measured values. We explicitly separate what the source states from our practical assessment. We do not claim any long-term, laboratory or room evaluation of our own. We reproduce the quoted listing texts unchanged in content, but apply the house punctuation: dashes become a colon or comma, ranges of values are written out with “to”, and special characters and promotional symbols are removed. Numbers, units and statements are left untouched.
Product data and sources
| Product | YIFMOO LED ceiling light 50 cm, dimmable, with hard-wired 230 V connection |
|---|---|
| Brand | YIFMOO |
| Category | Home lighting |
| ASIN | B0DNT7HNJG |
| Sources as of | 7 August 2026 |
| Type of research | Data and source analysis; no laboratory or long-term trial of our own |
Listing detail: Energy saving & long life
What the source says: Energy saving & long life: The 40W 4,200LM LED ceiling light flat can replace the traditional 200W light bulb, with up to 30,000 hours of rated lifetime, which is higher than the traditional light bulb life, and it can also help to reduce energy consumption and save 85% of the electricity bill, offers you and your family a stable light source and more possibilities!(Size: 502.8cm)
Why this matters: The amount of light can only be assessed together with beam angle, distance and the surface being lit. A high figure on its own does not say whether the light arrives in the right place. This figure contradicts the figure in the same sentence. 40 watts instead of 200 watts is 80 per cent less, not 85. For 85 per cent the lamp would have to manage with 30 watts. 4,200 lumens at 40 watts is 105 lumens per watt. According to the class limits of Regulation (EU) 2019/2015 that would be efficiency class F, because class E only begins at 110 lumens per watt. The listing does not state an energy efficiency class, and in the EU product register there is not a single entry under this brand name against which the figure could be checked. This figure appears only in the listing text. No manufacturer document that supports it exists, and because the LEDs are permanently installed, this figure determines the lifetime of the entire lamp and not just that of a light bulb.
Listing detail: Brightness & colour temperature adjustable
What the source says: Brightness & colour temperature adjustable: The 50CM ceiling light dimmable has three colour temperatures (neutral white, cool white, warm white) from which you can choose, and you can freely set the colour temperature (3,000K-6,500K) and the brightness (10%-100%) with the supplied remote control, and a one-touch night light mode, to meet your lighting needs for different occasions.
Why this matters: Check how many ways of operating it there really are and whether each of them stays reachable at the planned spot. It also matters whether the device stores the last chosen level and whether an accidental touch changes a setting. With a remote control, the question of batteries belongs here too.
Listing detail: Timer function & memory function
What the source says: Timer function & memory function: This round ceiling lamp with remote control is equipped with a timer and memory function, press the timer switch and the ceiling light is switched off automatically after 60S; the memory function takes effect after the light has been on for 10S and off for 5S, so that you do not need to reset the light mode the next time you use it.
Why this matters: Check how many ways of operating it there really are and whether each of them remains within reach at the planned location. It is also important whether the device stores the last level selected and whether an accidental touch changes a setting. With a remote control, the question of batteries belongs too. Whether 60 seconds or 60 minutes is meant is not clarified by the listing. The same sentence gives 10S and 5S, and there seconds are clearly meant, which points to 60 seconds. That would be a leaving light and not a sleep timer. There is no document that settles it.
Listing detail: Eye protection and no flicker
What the source says: Eye protection and no flicker: The ceiling light living room colour rendering index up to CRI80 +, high colour rendering, high brightness, you can present with the most realistic colours; shade made of high-quality acrylic material, higher light transmission, natural and soft light, no flicker and glare, to protect the eyes of children, especially for home use!
Why it matters: This statement comes from the sales listing and should not be read as a medical effect. A reliable assessment would need measurement methods and limit values, which a shop listing often does not state in full.
Listing detail: Easy installation ceiling lamp
What the source says: Easy installation ceiling lamp: The modern ultra-thin ceiling light comes with all accessories and is easy to install, you only need to first drill holes in the ceiling, fix the mounting bracket to the ceiling and connect the cables, then align the lamp shade and the mounting bracket, turn the lamp shade and fix it, then you can finish the installation very easily and quickly.
Why this matters: Before buying, this point should be checked against dimensions, instructions and the existing installation. A listing can contain variants or shortened wording. This is the right note and at the same time the point many people overlook: the lamp has no plug and is wired permanently to 230 volts. Without an existing ceiling supply cable, or if you are unsure at the connection point, installation belongs with a qualified electrician.
Listing detail: Multi-occasion use
What the source says: Multi-occasion use: This LED ceiling lamp has a sealed design, not only waterproof with IP54, but also effectively prevents dust and mosquitoes from entering, which can be used as a bedroom lamp, living room lamp, dining room lamp, office lamp, bathroom lamp and other occasions of light use.
Why this matters: The IP rating is a technical limit, but not a blanket approval for every installation location. Zone, connection and the complete installation instructions remain decisive. IP54 is not waterproof. The first digit 5 means dust-protected, that is, limited dust ingress is allowed, and dust-tight would only be a 6. The second digit 4 means protection against splashing water from all directions. For a bathroom that is enough in zone 2, but not for a shower or outdoor installation.
Use in daily life
In this model the light source is permanently installed. There is no holder and no replaceable light bulb, so brightness, colour temperature and the type of dimming are fixed from the factory. At the end of its rated lifetime you therefore replace the complete light and not the lamp. That makes the purchase decision more final than with a light that has a screw-in holder.
For this model, the purchase decision should therefore hinge on a concrete situation. Before buying, write a sentence such as: “I need light for …” and add place, time of day and activity. If the model does not clearly fulfil this task, an alternative from the same category is probably the better choice.
In bathrooms and outdoors, safety comes into play. An IP rating must match the actual installation location. With a hard-wired connection and uncertainty about bathroom zones, a qualified electrician is the right point of contact.
Strengths and limits of the assessment
What speaks for the model
- Product image, ASIN and listing data are clearly linked to one another.
- The design can be matched to a specific lighting task: for the main lighting of a living room, bedroom or child's room, only on an existing ceiling supply cable.
- The available features allow a targeted check before buying, without inventing a star rating.
What remains open
- No long-term use of our own, no light measurement and no documented load check.
- Listing details can be abbreviated or change with variants and model updates.
- Room effect, glare and ease of use depend on your location and daily routine.
The sore point is the complete lack of documentation for a device that is wired permanently to 230 volts. There is no manufacturer website, no data sheet, no model number and no entry in the EU product register against which you could check 4,200 lumens, 40 watts or an efficiency class. If you calculate the advertised values yourself, you arrive at 105 lumens per watt and therefore class F, whereas a brand manufacturer with a published data sheet reaches class E for the same design. On top of that come two details that are simply wrong: IP54 is not waterproof, and 40 instead of 200 watts saves 80 and not 85 per cent. Anyone buying a hard-wired ceiling light is also buying the control gear, and nobody here says anything about that.
What you should measure and check before buying
First measure whether a 230 V supply cable actually ends at the planned ceiling position, because the lamp has no plug. Then measure the free circular area on the ceiling: a diameter of 50 centimetres needs clearance all round from slopes, beams, curtain tracks and smoke alarms, while the height of 2.8 centimetres hardly matters. Look at the ceiling material, because concrete, plasterboard and timber each need different fixings and the accessories supplied usually suit only one case. Finally, check how you want to operate the lamp day to day: brightness and colour temperature run only via the remote control, and the wall switch only turns it on and off.
- Define the task: Write down which surface or zone is to be lit and at what time of day you use it.
- Measure the space: Check the mounting surface, cut-out or drilling pattern, the height of the cavity and whether a fixed supply cable is present at the planned location. Product photos are no substitute for dimensions.
- Compare the light data: Check light output, colour temperature, dimming and, if needed, IP rating in the current listing text. There is no manufacturer document to consult for this item.
- Think through the controls: The switch, app, sensor or remote control must be reachable and understandable in daily use at the planned location.
- Check the variant: Colour, size and set contents can differ within one listing, and often the technical details in the description text with them. Compare the selected variant with this analysis.
If you are unsure how much light your room needs at all, work it out once: the lumens-to-watts chart translates wattage figures into actual brightness, and how many lumens per room are needed depends on area and activity. Further models from this area are in the overview under home lighting, and the lighting calculator translates your room into a concrete target brightness.
Set-up, position and first check
Assign each lamp to exactly one task. Then check colour temperature, controls and possible glare in the evening. For permanently installed lamps, the installation instructions must match the existing connection; improvised solutions are not a good basis.
After set-up, do not judge the light only in daylight. In the evening, switch the rest of the lighting as you normally use it, and check the situation from seated, standing and walking height. Only then do disturbing reflections, hard shadows or an unfavourable switch position become visible.
Note the model number and order date and keep whatever paperwork is in the box. For this item there is neither a downloadable guide nor a manufacturer page, and in the event of a complaint the retailer is the only point of contact. Both are the only proof of which device you bought if you need to make a guarantee claim. Replacing the light source is not provided for, and at the end of its rated lifetime the complete device is replaced. This device is hard-wired to the house installation. Because no instructions are available for it, the connection belongs in professional hands, and all the more so in damp rooms and outdoors.
Comparison with similar models
The comparison does not name winners. It shows models of the same category so that you can see whether one of them is closer to your lighting task. If two models have the same task in the Assessment column, they do not differ in purpose but in design, dimensions and features. The column then states what is actually different according to the sources.
| Model | Brand | Assessment | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| YIFMOO LED ceiling light 50 cm | YIFMOO | for the main lighting of a living room, bedroom or children's room, only on an existing ceiling supply | This review |
| Bowfar LED ceiling light 58 cm | Bowfar | for a long flat light bar over a hallway, entrance area or dining table, with an energy label that demonstrably belongs to a different model from a different company | Read the review |
| MGEELED LED ceiling light Ø 30 cm | MGEELED | for bathroom, hallway, cellar or garage when the colour temperature is set once and not touched again, not for rooms where you want to dim in the evening | Read the review |
Our buying decision
The YIFMOO LED ceiling light 50 cm, dimmable, with hard-wired 230 V connection makes sense if you are looking for a lamp for the main lighting of a living room, bedroom or child's room, only on an existing ceiling supply cable, you have checked the dimensions at the intended location and you will actually use the functions named in the listing. The purchase is less convincing if you expect a universal solution for several conflicting lighting tasks.
Keep looking if key data such as dimensions, light output, IP rating or compatibility is not clearly documented for your intended use. The same applies if you only like the look of the design, but the cable, the installation location or the controls would get in your way in daily use.
We deliberately award no stars. A numerical score would suggest a measurement accuracy that does not exist without documented hands-on testing. The statement this page can support is narrower: which details are available, what the model may be suited for, and which questions remain open before you buy?
Frequently asked questions about the home light
Can I connect this light myself?
Only if a 230 V supply cable already ends at the ceiling and you know what you are doing. The lamp has no plug but is wired in permanently, and the seller itself describes drilling and screwing on a mounting bracket. If in doubt, and always when a supply cable first has to be installed, this belongs with a qualified electrician.
Are 4,200 lumens at 40 watts documented, and which efficiency class would that be?
Nothing documents the combination except the listing text, because the EU product register contains not a single light source under the brand name YIFMOO. By calculation, 4,200 lumens at 40 watts is exactly 105 lumens per watt and therefore efficiency class F, because class E only begins at 110 lumens per watt. The listing does not state a class anywhere.
What does the timer that switches off after 60S mean?
The listing leaves this open. The same sentence gives 10S and 5S for the memory function, and there seconds are clearly meant, which also points to 60 seconds. That would be a light that gives you another minute to leave the room, not a sleep timer lasting an hour. This can only be clarified with the instructions supplied.
Is IP54 waterproof, and can the lamp go in a bathroom?
IP54 is not waterproof. The 5 in first place means dust-protected, not dust-tight, and the 4 in second place means protection against splashing water from all directions. For zone 2 of a bathroom, that is, outside the bath and shower, that is sufficient, but not for the area directly above the shower.
What happens if the LED fails after some years?
Then the whole lamp is replaced. The LEDs are permanently installed, there is neither a lamp holder nor a replaceable light bulb, and nobody names a spare part or a source for one. This is the normal case for flat ceiling lights of this design, but you should be aware of it before buying.
Is there a manufacturer website for YIFMOO?
No. yifmoo.com does resolve, but leads to a domain marketplace offering exactly this address for sale, and eight further spellings we checked, from yifmoo.de to yifmoo.online, have no DNS record. The brand therefore does not even own its own domain, let alone a data sheet.
Sources and currency
The sources are ranked by their closeness to the product: manufacturer documents come before retailer or comparison data. A shop listing is useful for the variant currently on offer, but it is not an independent check. Missing documents are not replaced with invented experiences.
- Listing text for ASIN B0DNT7HNJG with all figures on this page: 40 watts, 4,200 lumens, diameter 50 centimetres at a height of 2.8 centimetres, 3,000 to 6,500 kelvin, dimming range 10 to 100 per cent, colour rendering index above 80, IP54, 30,000 hours rated lifetime, timer with switch-off after 60S, and installation by drilling, bracket and wiring in. Amazon listing B0DNT7HNJG, not linked
- yifmoo.com does resolve, but does not lead to a brand page: the request ends, via a redirect, at a domain marketplace where the address yifmoo.com is offered for sale. There is therefore no manufacturer website, and the brand does not even own its own domain.
- EU product register EPREL, query of the brand name YIFMOO via the light source interface: not a single registration. There is therefore no official cross-check for 4,200 lumens, 40 watts and the efficiency class.
- A second identifier of the same brand on the same marketplace with the same description of the 50 centimetre lamp. There, too, there is no energy efficiency class and no model number through which a document could be found. Amazon listing B0FBWQ9LTR, not linked
- Amazon product listing B0DNT7HNJG; product data via the Creators API, retrieved 7 August 2026 Advertisement
Content checked on 7 August 2026. Prices, availability and product variants can change independently of this page. For the final check, always use the current retailer listing and any available manufacturer documents.
If a linked source is no longer reachable, or the model on offer visibly differs from the product image and designation, this analysis is no longer the right basis for a decision. In that case the current model number is what counts. Tell us about the difference via the contact page (in German), so that the data, the link and the recommendation can be checked.



