Does the model suit your lighting task?
EGLO Laroa table lamp 96435 with four-level touch dimmer and built-in LED stands in this selection for the desk or bedside table with a socket nearby, with a luminous flux figure that differs by 50 lumens between manufacturer and listing. That is a narrower and more honest statement than a blanket “good” or “bad”. A lamp can be technically decent and still disappoint in the wrong place. This review therefore starts with the intended use, not with a score.
Work out the luminous flux. According to the manufacturer it is 600 lumens, according to the listing 550 lumens at 4.5 watts. That gives 122 and 133 lumens per watt respectively, without any official record confirming the 4.5 watts. Both calculations are in the range of class E, which the manufacturer names. For a small work area this is a usual magnitude, and no source gives a lux value at the desktop.
For this model there are 5 readable product features from the Amazon listing. They are not presented as independently confirmed measured values. We explicitly separate what the source states from our practical assessment. We do not claim any long-term, laboratory or room trials of our own. We reproduce the quoted listing texts unchanged in content, but apply the house style for punctuation: dashes become a colon or comma, ranges are written out with “to”, and special characters and advertising symbols are removed. Numbers, units and statements are left untouched.
Product data and sources
| Product | EGLO Laroa table lamp 96435 with four-level touch dimmer and built-in LED |
|---|---|
| Brand | EGLO |
| Category | Home lighting |
| ASIN | B075G1HYKM |
| Sources as of | 2 November 2026 |
| Type of research | Data and source analysis; no laboratory or long-term trial of our own |
Listing detail: The plastic LED table lamp in white…
What the source states: The plastic LED table lamp in white with touch function fits seamlessly into trends such as modern and minimalism
Why it matters: Check how many ways of operating it there really are and whether each of them stays reachable at the planned spot. It is also important whether the device saves the last level chosen and whether an accidental touch changes a setting.
Listing detail: Thanks to the flexible lamp head, the incidence of light can…
What the source states: Thanks to the flexible lamp head, the incidence of light can be individually aimed at the table. The desk lamp can be conveniently switched on and off and dimmed in 4 levels by touch on the lamp base
Why this matters: Dimmable only becomes a useful statement once the way of operating it and the levels are clarified. With a built-in LED, only the electronics in the device decide, and a wall dimmer upstream is neither necessary nor intended here. The manufacturer page also confirms the four levels. What is missing: what share of the luminous flux each level delivers and whether the lowest level works as a night light. If you want to use the lamp by the bed, you should clarify this beforehand.
Listing detail: The LED table lamp offers the perfect light at your…
What the source states: The LED table lamp offers the perfect light at your workplace, whether in the office or in the home office on the desk
Why this matters: For the assessment, what counts is whether this feature brings a concrete advantage in daily use. Without a suitable lighting task, it remains mostly a data sheet point. Perfect is not a measured quantity. Neither illuminance in lux nor distance to the desktop, nor glare protection or a flicker figure appears in the sources. According to the listing the lamp head is flexible, but how far it can be tilted is not stated there.
Listing detail: The integrated LEDs give neutral white light
What the source states: The integrated LEDs give neutral white light (4.5 watts, 550 lumens)
Why this matters: The amount of light can only be judged together with beam angle, distance and the area to be lit. A high figure alone does not say whether the light arrives in the right place. The manufacturer page gives 600 lumens in total for article 96435, the listing 550. Both figures cannot describe the luminous flux of the same model at the same time. We treat the manufacturer value as authoritative, but we keep the gap visible: we did not find a registration in EPREL against which the value could be officially checked. The power consumption does not appear on the manufacturer pages retrieved and comes only from the listing. With 4.5 watts, this gives 122 lumens per watt at 550 lumens and 133 at 600 lumens. That fits class E, which the manufacturer names, but it is a calculation based on an unbacked wattage. The listing gives no kelvin figure. The manufacturer page gives 4000 kelvin, and that is a neutral white. A colour rendering index is missing from both sources.
Listing detail: Dimensions: height: 32.5 cm, length
What the source states: Dimensions: height: 32.5 cm, length: 48 cm, lamp base: 12 x17 cm
Why this matters: This point should be checked against the dimensions, instructions and existing installation before you buy. A listing can contain variants or shortened wording.
Use in daily life
In daily use, floor space, connection and operation count. The base measures 12 by 17 centimetres, and the lamp is 48 centimetres long and 32.5 centimetres high overall. It needs a socket, because there is no rechargeable battery, and no source gives the cable length. Switching and dimming are done by touch on the base, four levels according to the manufacturer.
For this model, the purchase decision should therefore hinge on a concrete situation. Before buying, write a sentence such as: “I need light for …” and add place, time of day and activity. If the model does not clearly fulfil this task, an alternative from the same category is probably the better choice.
What the lamp is not built for: as room lighting, as an outdoor light (IP rating IP20) or as a cordless lamp that you carry around. It has no USB charging function. Light use does not replace medical treatment, and persistent discomfort when reading should be checked by an eye specialist.
Strengths and limits of the assessment
What speaks for the model
- Product image, ASIN and listing data are clearly linked to one another.
- The shape can be matched to a concrete lighting task: for the desk or bedside table with a socket nearby, with a luminous flux figure that differs by 50 lumens between manufacturer and listing.
- The available features allow a targeted check before buying, without inventing a star rating.
What remains open
- No long-term use of our own, no light measurement and no documented load check.
- Listing details can be abbreviated or change with variants and model updates.
- Room effect, glare and ease of use depend on your location and daily routine.
The purchase usually fails at one of three points: the lamp is taken for a workplace light with high illuminance, although only a luminous flux and no lux value is given. The four levels are not fine enough for the intended purpose. Or the LED fails, and because it can only be replaced by a specialist, in case of doubt only a complaint or replacement remains, not a change by yourself.
What you should measure and check before buying
Measure the floor space, because the base is 12 by 17 centimetres and the lamp is 48 centimetres long overall at 32.5 centimetres high. Check the distance between socket and placement, because the cable length is in no source. Clarify before buying whether you need a lamp with four fixed levels or one that can be dimmed continuously. And decide whether the luminous flux figure of 550 or 600 lumens matters to you, because both are in circulation.
- Clarify the task: Clarify whether you need a table lamp for desk or bedside table or a room light. These are two different classes of device.
- Check the floor space: The base measures 12 by 17 centimetres, the overall length 48 centimetres. Measure the space on the table.
- Check the connection: The lamp needs a socket, there is no rechargeable battery. No source gives the cable length, so measure the route to the socket.
- Try the levels: Four levels by touch on the base. Check whether the lowest level is enough as a night light, because the shares are not stated.
- Check the model identifier: Note the article number 96435 and that 600 lumens according to the manufacturer and 550 according to the listing are in circulation.
If you are unsure how much light your room needs at all, work it out once: the lumens-to-watts chart translates wattage figures into actual brightness, and how many lumens per room are needed depends on area and activity. Further models from this area are in the overview under home lighting, and the lighting calculator translates your room into a concrete target brightness.
Set-up, position and first check
Place the lamp on a level surface within reach of the socket and aim the flexible head at the work surface. Touch the base to switch on and try out the four levels before you settle on the position. The LED is built in and can only be replaced by a specialist, a light bulb change is not intended.
After set-up, do not judge the light only in daylight. In the evening, switch the rest of the lighting as you normally use it, and check the situation from seated, standing and walking height. Only then do disturbing reflections, hard shadows or an unfavourable switch position become visible.
Keep the instructions and the model designation. That helps with spare parts, with a later query about the product and in a guarantee claim. Replacing the light source is not intended; at the end of its life the complete device is replaced. This device is intended for indoor use only and is not approved for damp rooms or outdoors.
Comparison with similar models
The comparison does not name winners. It shows models of the same category so that you can see whether one of them is closer to your lighting task. If two models have the same task in the Assessment column, they do not differ in purpose but in design, dimensions and features. The column then states what is actually different according to the sources.
| Model | Brand | Assessment | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| EGLO Laroa table lamp 96435 with four-level touch dimmer… | EGLO | for the desk or bedside table with a socket nearby, with a luminous flux figure that differs by 50 lumens between manufacturer and listing | This review |
| EGLO La Seca, foldable LED table lamp with rechargeable battery, touch dimmer… | EGLO | for cordless desk and supplementary light over short stretches, not as continuous light and not as a reading lamp with documented brightness | Read the review |
| EGLO Snapora table lamp, LED with three-step touch dimmer… | EGLO | for warm white work or reading light within arm's reach on a desk or bedside table, with no documented lux, CRI or flicker values | Read the review |
Our buying decision
EGLO Laroa table lamp 96435 with four-level touch dimmer and built-in LED makes sense if you are looking for a lamp for the desk or bedside table with a socket nearby, with a luminous flux figure that differs by 50 lumens between manufacturer and listing, have checked the dimensions at the intended spot and actually use the functions named in the listing. The purchase is less convincing if you expect a universal solution for several contradictory lighting tasks.
Keep looking if key data such as dimensions, light output, IP rating or compatibility is not clearly documented for your intended use. The same applies if you only like the look of the design, but the cable, the floor space or the controls would get in your way in daily use.
We deliberately award no stars. A numerical score would suggest a measurement accuracy that does not exist without documented hands-on testing. The statement this page can support is narrower: which details are available, what the model may be suited for, and which questions remain open before you buy?
Frequently asked questions about the table lamp
Does the Laroa have 550 or 600 lumens?
That depends on whom you ask. The EGLO manufacturer page gives 600 lumens in total, the listing on Amazon.co.uk gives 550. We regard the manufacturer value as the more reliable one, but there is no EPREL record against which the figure could be officially checked.
Can I change the LED myself?
No, not according to the manufacturer. The manufacturer page lists the LED as replaceable only by a specialist, while the driver is replaceable by the customer. There is no holder for a standard light bulb, the light source is built in.
Does the lamp have a USB port or a rechargeable battery?
No. The manufacturer page states expressly that there is no rechargeable battery, and a USB charging function is advertised neither there nor in the listing. The lamp therefore needs a socket within reach of the mains cable, whose length none of the sources gives.
How does the operation work?
By touch on the lamp base you switch the lamp on and off and select four levels. Manufacturer and listing agree on this. None of the sources says how bright each level is.
What colour temperature does the Laroa have?
According to the manufacturer it is 4000 kelvin, that is a neutral white. The listing gives no kelvin figure and only speaks of neutral white light, so the statements are consistent. No source gives a colour rendering index.
Is the Laroa worth it for a desk?
For a small desk in an office or home office, the magnitude of 550 to 600 lumens is plausible, but a lux value at the desktop is missing. The lamp is 48 centimetres long and the base measures 12 by 17 centimetres, so check the floor space. If you read for long periods or work with paper, pay attention to the level you actually need.
Sources and currency
The sources are ranked by their closeness to the product: manufacturer documents come before retailer or comparison data. A shop listing is useful for the variant currently on offer, but it is not an independent check. Missing documents are not replaced with invented experiences.
- EGLO manufacturer page, English version, article 96435 (retrieved 2 November 2026): 600 lumens in total, 4000 kelvin, IP rating IP20, protection class 2, mains voltage 220 to 240 volts at 50 and 60 hertz, switch as a touch dimmer with four levels, energy efficiency class E, guarantee 5 years according to the manufacturer, no rechargeable battery. Dimensions 480 by 120 by 325 millimetres, base 170 by 120 millimetres, net weight 0.92 kilograms. Driver replaceable by the customer, LED replaceable only by a specialist.
- EGLO Austria manufacturer page, German version, article 96435 (retrieved 2 November 2026): page title and meta description give 600 lumens and 4000 kelvin, dimmable, white. The page lists the same article number as the English version.
- Listing text for ASIN B075G1HYKM on Amazon.co.uk (retrieved 2 November 2026), from which the 4.5 watts, 550 lumens, neutral white light, four dimming levels by touch on the base and the dimensions height 32.5, length 48, base 12 by 17 centimetres are taken. Amazon listing B075G1HYKM, not linked
- EU product register EPREL (retrieved 2 November 2026), query of the light source interface by model identifier Laroa and by article number 96435: no registration by EGLO. The two hits for the number 96435 belong to other suppliers and other models.
- Amazon product listing B075G1HYKM; product data via the Creators API, retrieved 2 November 2026 Advertisement
Content checked on 2 November 2026. Prices, availability and product variants can change independently of this page. For the final check, always use the current retailer listing and any available manufacturer documents.
If a linked source is no longer reachable, or the model on offer visibly differs from the product image and designation, this analysis is no longer the right basis for a decision. In that case the current model number is what counts. Tell us about the difference via the contact page (in German), so that the data, the link and the recommendation can be checked.



