Does the model suit your lighting task?
EGLO Rondo 85261, pendant light with opal glass globe Ø 20 cm and E27 lamp holder stands in this selection for a single point of light over a dining table or kitchen counter, with no documented way to shorten the suspension and no light bulb included. That is a narrower and more honest statement than a blanket “good” or “bad”. A lamp can be technically decent and still disappoint in the wrong place. That is why this analysis starts with the intended use, not with a score.
The decisive figure is the length: 110 centimetres in height according to the manufacturer. Room height minus 110 centimetres gives the height of the lower edge, which with a 250 centimetre ceiling is about 140 centimetres above the floor. The luminous flux depends on the E27 bulb, up to 60 watts, and is not stated for the lamp itself.
For this model there are 5 readable product features from the Amazon listing. They are not presented as independently confirmed measured values. We explicitly separate what the source states from our practical assessment. We do not claim any long-term, laboratory or room trials of our own. We reproduce the quoted listing texts unchanged in content, but apply the house style for punctuation: dashes become a colon or comma, ranges are written out with “to”, and special characters and advertising symbols are removed. Numbers, units and statements are left untouched.
Product data and sources
| Product | EGLO Rondo 85261, pendant light with opal glass globe Ø 20 cm and E27 lamp holder |
|---|---|
| Brand | EGLO |
| Category | Home lighting |
| ASIN | B00SYZKPA8 |
| Sources as of | 21 October 2026 |
| Type of research | Data and source analysis; no laboratory or long-term trial of our own |
Listing detail: The elegant and timeless design of the pendant lamp fits…
What the source says: The elegant and timeless design of the pendant lamp fits stylishly into your living spaces and creates an inviting atmosphere
Why this matters: This statement describes a product feature, but does not yet answer whether it is practical for a single point of light over a dining table or kitchen counter, with no documented way to shorten the suspension and no light bulb included. What matters is the link to the planned location. This is promotional wording with no dimensions given. What is documented is a shade of opal matt glass with Ø 20 centimetres and a metal frame. Whether the lamp suits your table is decided by the ratio of shade size to table width.
Listing detail: The shade is made of opal matt glass; thanks to…
What the source says: The shade is made of opal matt glass; thanks to the simple design, the lamp combines excellently with your decor
Why this matters: This point should be checked against the dimensions, instructions and existing installation before you buy. A listing can contain variants or shortened wording.
Listing detail: No light bulb included…
What the source says: No light bulb included; the light bulbs are available separately under Eglo 110032
Why this matters: For the assessment, what counts is whether this feature brings a concrete advantage in daily use. Without a suitable lighting task, it remains mainly a data sheet point.
Listing detail: Suitable for any light bulb with an E27 cap, maximum…
What the source says: Suitable for any light bulb with an E27 cap, maximum wattage per holder 60 W; dimmable depending on the light bulb used
Why this matters: Dimmable is only a usable statement once the control method, steps and possible compatibility are clarified. With a bulb, the existing dimmer must also suit the LED. The lamp itself is neither dimmable nor non-dimmable, it contains no electronics. Dimming only works with an explicitly dimmable E27 bulb on a matching dimmer. The EGLO manufacturer page for article 85261 gives no information on this, so the statement remains a supplier claim.
Listing detail: Dimensions: height
What the source says: Dimensions: height: max 110 cm, diameter: 20 cm
Why this matters: This point should be checked against the dimensions, instructions and existing installation before you buy. A listing can contain variants or shortened wording. The manufacturer page gives 110 centimetres without the "max". Neither statement says whether the suspension can be shortened. For the sister model Ø 25 cm, a retailer gives a non-adjustable suspension length. Plan, therefore, with 110 centimetres as a fixed length until EGLO confirms otherwise.
Use in daily life
The lamp hangs from a ceiling outlet and is wired permanently into the installation, a plug is not mentioned anywhere. It needs no socket or standing surface. Protection class 1 according to the manufacturer requires an earth conductor at the outlet, and if in doubt the connection should be left to a qualified electrician.
For this model, the purchase decision should therefore hinge on a concrete situation. Before buying, write a sentence such as: “I need light for …” and add place, time of day and activity. If the model does not clearly fulfil this task, an alternative from the same category is probably the better choice.
The lamp is built for a single point of light in a dry interior (IP20). It is not intended for a bathroom, outdoors or even lighting of a large table. No effect on sleep or eyes is claimed.
Strengths and limits of the assessment
What speaks for the model
- Product image, ASIN and listing data are clearly linked to one another.
- The design can be matched to a concrete lighting task: for a single point of light over a dining table or kitchen counter, with no documented way to shorten the suspension and no light bulb included.
- The available features allow a targeted check before buying, without inventing a star rating.
What remains open
- No long-term use of our own, no light measurement and no documented load check.
- Listing details can be abbreviated or change with variants and model updates.
- Room effect, glare and ease of use depend on your location and daily routine.
The purchase usually fails on the height: if the suspension cannot be shortened, the shade hangs too low with a low ceiling and too high above the table with a high ceiling. The second breaking point is the bulb: it is not included, and a bulb that is too large or not dimmable turns dimmability into nothing. The third is the connection, which, if the earth conductor is missing or the hand is inexperienced, goes to a qualified electrician.
What you should measure and check before buying
Measure the room height and the desired distance from the lower edge to the tabletop. Then calculate: room height minus 110 centimetres of lamp height gives the height of the lower edge above the floor. With a 250 centimetre ceiling that would be about 140 centimetres, and from there you subtract the table height, without shortenability being documented. Also check the ceiling outlet for an earth conductor and the size of the bulb that is to go into the glass globe.
- Clarify what you need: Clarify whether you need a single point of light or even lighting of the whole table. These are two different classes of lamp.
- Calculate the height: Room height minus 110 centimetres gives the height of the lower edge. Check whether the distance to the tabletop suits you, because shortening is not documented.
- Check the outlet: Check whether an earth conductor arrives at the ceiling outlet. The connection is fixed, and if in doubt a qualified electrician makes it.
- Choose the bulb: Buy an E27 bulb up to 60 watts whose dimensions fit into the globe Ø 20 centimetres. If you want to dim, take an explicitly dimmable bulb and a matching dimmer.
- Check the variant: Check article 85261 with Ø 20 centimetres, because the Rondo series also comes in other sizes with other dimensions.
If you are unsure how much light your room needs at all, work it out once: the lumens-to-watts chart translates wattage figures into actual brightness, and how many lumens per room are needed depends on area and activity. Further models from this area are in the overview under home lighting, and the lighting calculator translates your room into a concrete target brightness.
Set-up, position and first check
What matters is the distance from the lower edge to the tabletop, an outlet with an earth conductor and a suitable bulb. A large LED retrofit bulb may need too much space in the glass globe. Dimming only works with an explicitly dimmable bulb on a matching dimmer.
After set-up, do not judge the light only in daylight. In the evening, switch the rest of the lighting as you normally use it, and check the situation from seated, standing and walking height. Only then do disturbing reflections, hard shadows or an unfavourable switch position become visible.
Keep the instructions and the model designation. This helps with spare parts, with a later query about the product and in a guarantee claim. The light bulb and lamp holder remain replaceable, so a later change of brightness or colour temperature is possible. This device is intended for indoor use only, and it is not approved for damp rooms or outdoor use.
Comparison with similar models
The comparison does not name winners. It shows models of the same category so that you can see whether one of them is closer to your lighting task. If two models have the same task in the Assessment column, they do not differ in purpose but in design, dimensions and features. The column then states what is actually different according to the sources.
| Model | Brand | Assessment | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| EGLO Rondo 85261, pendant light with opal glass globe Ø 20 cm… | EGLO | for a single point of light over a dining table or kitchen counter, with no documented way to shorten the suspension and no light bulb included | This review |
| NVKE LED pendant light wave ring 40 cm | NVKE | for the dining table or kitchen island as a pendant light with remote control, with an energy label note that does not match the stated power | Read the analysis |
| Philips Hue Flourish pendant light | Philips Hue | for a dining table or kitchen island with app control, with an open question about drop height, shortenability and pairing with a dimmer switch | Read the analysis |
Our buying decision
EGLO Rondo 85261, pendant light with opal glass globe Ø 20 cm and E27 lamp holder makes sense if you are looking for a lamp for a single point of light over a dining table or kitchen counter, with no documented way to shorten the suspension and no light bulb included, you have checked the dimensions at the intended spot and you will actually use the functions named in the listing. The purchase is less convincing if you expect a universal solution for several conflicting lighting tasks.
Keep looking if key data such as dimensions, light output, IP rating or compatibility is not clearly documented for your intended use. The same applies if you only like the look of the design, but the cable, the installation location or the controls would get in your way in daily use.
We deliberately award no stars. A numerical score would suggest a measurement accuracy that does not exist without documented hands-on testing. The statement this page can support is narrower: which details are available, what the model may be suited for, and which questions remain open before you buy?
Frequently asked questions about the pendant light
Can I shorten the suspension of this pendant light?
That is not documented for this model. The EGLO manufacturer page gives a height of 110 centimetres, but leaves the fields for cable length and shortenability empty. For the sister model Ø 25 cm, a retailer states a non-adjustable suspension length, so plan with a fixed length and, if in doubt, ask the manufacturer.
How is the lamp connected, and do I need a qualified electrician?
A pendant light hangs from a ceiling rose and is wired permanently into the installation there. Neither the listing nor the manufacturer mentions a plug. The manufacturer page states protection class 1, which requires an earth conductor at the ceiling outlet. If in doubt, the connection should be left to a qualified electrician.
Is a light bulb included, and which one fits?
No, according to the listing and the manufacturer there is no light bulb included. Any lamp with an E27 cap up to a maximum of 60 watts fits, but the shade is a closed glass globe with a diameter of Ø 20 centimetres. Check the length and diameter of the bulb before you buy a large retrofit LED.
Can the lamp be dimmed?
Only through the bulb and the wall switch. The listing says dimmable depending on the light bulb used, the manufacturer page gives no information, and the lamp has no dimmer of its own. You need an explicitly dimmable E27 bulb and a matching dimmer switch.
Is the lamp suitable for the bathroom or outdoors?
No. The manufacturer page gives IP20, which is protection for dry indoor rooms with no protection against water. For a bathroom or outdoor use you need a lamp with a suitable IP rating.
Is a Ø 20 cm lamp enough for a dining table?
As the only light over a large table it is more of a single point of light. The listing gives no information on how far the light spreads, and the luminous flux depends on the bulb you fit anyway. For a kitchen counter, or as a pair side by side, the size is a better fit.
Sources and currency
The sources are ranked by their closeness to the product: manufacturer documents come before retailer or comparison data. A shop listing is useful for the variant currently on offer, but it is not an independent check. Missing documents are not replaced with invented experiences.
- Listing for ASIN B00SYZKPA8, retrieved 21 October 2026 from the project's product data: brand EGLO, name Rondo, single-light pendant light, shade of opal matt glass in white, frame of metal in silver, Ø 20 cm, height max 110 cm, E27 cap, maximum 60 watts per holder, no light bulb included, dimmable depending on the light bulb used. All of this is a supplier claim, unless the manufacturer page confirms it. Amazon listing B00SYZKPA8, not linked
- EGLO manufacturer page for article 85261, retrieved 21 October 2026: pendant light E27 Ø 20 cm, white glass, steel in nickel-matt, opal-matt white glass, height 110 cm, holder E27, light bulb not included, 220 to 240 volts at 50 and 60 hertz, protection class 1, IP20, no switch, weight 0.88 kilograms. The data list gives no information on cable or suspension length, shortenability or dimmability.
- Eglo search result for the term Rondo 85261, retrieved 21 October 2026: confirms that the lamp is listed in the current range as a pendant light E27 Ø 20 cm in white with glass.
- Retailer page for a sister model of the same series, clearly named as a different model (Rondo Ø 25 cm, height 110 cm, retailer article number 9840391), retrieved 21 October 2026: E27, maximum 60 watts, IP20, suspension length not adjustable according to the retailer, dimmability not stated. This is a retailer statement about a different size and not evidence for the Ø 20 model.
- Amazon product listing B00SYZKPA8; product data via the Creators API, retrieved 21 October 2026 Advertisement
Content checked on 21 October 2026. Prices, availability and product variants can change independently of this page. For the final check, always use the current retailer listing and any available manufacturer documents.
If a linked source is no longer reachable, or the model on offer visibly differs from the product image and designation, this analysis is no longer the right basis for a decision. In that case the current model number is what counts. Tell us about the difference via the contact page (in German), so that the data, the link and the recommendation can be checked.



