Home/Floor lamps/Uplighter with reading lamp

Comparison · Uplighters

Uplighter with reading lamp: what matters

An uplighter with a reading lamp is meant to provide background light and a reading spot in a single lamp. This page explains how to recognise a workable combination and which models from our selection fit.

Updated: 20 October 2026

AI-assisted text, editorially reviewed · Images are real product photos, not AI images · Details

In short: An uplighter with a reading lamp is worthwhile if the main light and the reading arm can be switched and dimmed separately and you have a light, even ceiling. Before buying, check the power, the colour temperature range, the controls and the stability of the base. All values here come from listings and manufacturer documents, with no documented hands-on testing.

When an uplighter with a reading lamp is the right lamp

It starts with the job the lamp has to do in the room. An uplighter shines upwards, the ceiling reflects the light back softly, and the room looks evenly lit. That suits living rooms where several things happen at once in the evening: watching TV, talking, reading a book on the side. The gooseneck reading lamp then provides the directed light that indirect lighting cannot.

This type is less suitable in rooms with a very dark, heavily textured or sloping ceiling. With an uplighter, the effect depends on how much light the surface above the lamp reflects. In rooms with low ceilings, you should also measure the distance between the shade and the ceiling before you order. If you have so far worked with a traditional lamp holder, the guide Converting an uplighter to LED covers the basics of switching to a built-in LED.

A second question concerns the role of the lamp. Should it be the only room light, or does it supplement existing ceiling lights and table lamps? For zone lighting next to a sofa or armchair, less power is often enough than for replacing the main lighting. The guide How many lumens per room gives guidance based on floor area and use. If you want to combine several light sources in a room, the lighting calculator can help.

Separate switching: the most important criterion

The added value of a reading lamp on an uplighter only arises when both light sources can be operated independently of each other. Otherwise the reading spot stays on although nobody is reading, or the background light has to be switched along with it every time. So check in the listing whether the main light and the reading arm can be switched on and off separately and whether each can be dimmed individually.

The source situation differs from model to model. For the GIACOMO YG001 LED uplighter with separate reading lamp, the listing explicitly mentions separate control of the main and reading light. The listing for the marctronic LED uplighter 42 W with reading lamp also states that the uplighter and the reading lamp can be switched separately. The Lindby LED floor lamp with uplighter and adjustable reading arm is described as having two rotary dimmers, through which both light sources can be dimmed and switched on and off individually. For the remaining models, the listings speak of a reading lamp and an uplighter as two units, without naming the separation of the switching as clearly. Before buying, that remains a question for the seller.

One honest note belongs here: we have not tried out how convenient the controls are in daily use. We report what manufacturers and retailers write about the controls, and put it in context.

Power and brightness: what the figures tell you

For uplighters, the power is stated as the sum of the main light and the reading lamp. That makes comparison harder. The BBHome uplighter 27 W with 6 W reading lamp shows it well: the listing gives 27 watts for the main light and 6 watts for the reading lamp, while the stored energy data sheet under EU 2019/2015 gives 33 watts in the on state and 3,500 lumens, plus energy efficiency class F. In addition, the listing's attribute table shows a different class, A. So rely on the data sheet, not on the attribute line.

For the Modlicht 35 W uplighter with reading lamp, the officially reported power according to EPREL is 35 watts, the luminous flux 4,120 lumens and the efficiency class E. The listing advertises 4,200 lumens and a split into 30 watts for the uplighter and 5 watts for the reading lamp. The split appears only in the listing text. The difference of 80 lumens is small, but it shows that listing figures and register data do not always match.

The marctronic LED uplighter 42 W with reading lamp gives 42 watts and 4,200 lumens in the listing. There is no manufacturer document for this model, so the figures remain the seller's claims. For the Lindby LED floor lamp with uplighter and adjustable reading arm, no light output is documented. So plan it as an additional light zone and not as a replacement for the room lighting.

Important for the comparison: an uplighter loses light on its way via the ceiling. A lumen figure on paper does not say how bright it will be at the armchair. How to estimate the needs of your room is explained in the guide How many lumens per room.

Colour temperature, dimming and controls

Most models of this type offer several colour temperatures and continuous dimming. The Modlicht 35 W uplighter with reading lamp lists four settings at 3,000, 4,000, 5,000 and 6,000 kelvin and dimming from 5 to 100 per cent in the listing. The BBHome uplighter 27 W with 6 W reading lamp offers 3,000, 4,000, 5,000 and 6,500 kelvin with the same dimming range. The GIACOMO YG001 LED uplighter with separate reading lamp, by contrast, advertises a linear adjustment from 2,700 to 6,500 kelvin, and the marctronic LED uplighter 42 W with reading lamp four settings from 2,700 to 6,500 kelvin. The ANTENLICHT LED uplighter with reading lamp lists 3,000 to 6,000 kelvin, also with dimming from 5 to 100 per cent.

For an evening in the living room, the warm range is the more important one. Cooler light can make sense for concentrated work. You will find a guide to kelvin values under Colour temperature and kelvin. If you only read in the evening, you rarely need the coolest range.

On the controls: a remote control and touch buttons on the pole are standard on the models with listing data. Several listings mention a magnet on the remote control so that it sticks to the lamp body. The listings from Modlicht, BBHome, ANTENLICHT, GIACOMO and marctronic mention a memory function that restores the last setting. The marctronic listing also states that the lamp works with a smart plug and a wall switch.

Construction, stability and flexibility

An uplighter is tall and carries a large shade, so the base matters. The listing for the BBHome uplighter 27 W with 6 W reading lamp gives a base weight of 2.5 kilograms at a height of 183 centimetres according to the data sheet. For the GIACOMO YG001 LED uplighter with separate reading lamp, the listing gives a total weight of almost 5 kilograms and a base of 2.25 kilograms. For the Modlicht 35 W uplighter with reading lamp, the base weighs around 2.95 kilograms according to our documents. We have not checked whether that is enough for households with children or pets.

The models differ in how they can be aimed. The Modlicht 35 W uplighter with reading lamp and the ANTENLICHT LED uplighter with reading lamp describe a rotatable uplighter (350 degrees) and a movable reading lamp. On the marctronic LED uplighter 42 W with reading lamp, the main head can be turned up to 350 degrees and tilted up to 180 degrees, and the reading arm bends through 360 degrees. On the Lindby LED floor lamp with uplighter and adjustable reading arm, the reading arm is described as a flexible gooseneck, and according to the listing the height is 183 centimetres and the diameter 32.5 centimetres. It is also an alternative to the shade models if you are looking for a vintage look with a rust-coloured finish.

Before buying, measure the room height, the space for the lamp and the route to the socket. A cable across a walkway is a more frequent problem in everyday use than the colour temperature.

Six models compared

The table summarises the data from the respective product pages. A dash means: not stated on the product page. The values are listing or manufacturer data, not our own measurements.

ModelPowerColour temperatureSeparate switching in the listingSource situation
Modlicht 35 W uplighter with reading lamp35 W, 4,120 lm (EPREL)3,000 to 6,000 KUplighter 30 W, reading arm 5 W according to the listingEPREL entry, listing
BBHome uplighter 27 W with 6 W reading lamp33 W, 3,500 lm (data sheet)3,000 to 6,500 K27 W and 6 W according to the listingData sheet, listing
ANTENLICHT LED uplighter with reading lamp20 W plus 7 W according to the listing3,000 to 6,000 KTwo light sources according to the listinglisting only
GIACOMO YG001 LED uplighter with separate reading lamp42 W according to the listing, main lamp up to 36 W2,700 to 6,500 KYes, controlled separatelylisting only
marctronic LED uplighter 42 W with reading lamp42 W, 4,200 lm according to the listing2,700 to 6,500 KYes, switchable separatelylisting only
Lindby LED floor lamp with uplighter and adjustable reading armnot statednot statedYes, two rotary dimmersManufacturer document, listing

If you value documented figures, you will find them for Modlicht and BBHome, because register and data sheet details are available there. If you want a high power figure, look at the 42 watt models, but then you have to rely on listing figures. An alternative to the models with remote control is the rotary dimmer solution from Lindby, if you want to manage without a radio remote control.

You will find more models in the category under Floor lamps.

Power, efficiency and notes on use

According to listing and register data, the total power of these lamps lies between 27 and 42 watts. How much that costs per year depends on burning time, dimming level and electricity price. The guide LED power consumption and costs offers a calculation aid. When dimmed, the lamp runs on less power, but the documents do not say by how much.

The efficiency classes from the register data (E for the Modlicht, F for the BBHome) show that these lamps are efficient but not at the top of the scale. Advertising claims such as replacing a 200 watt lamp with 90 per cent savings do not add up for the Modlicht: at 35 instead of 200 watts, the reduction in power is around 82.5 per cent.

If you use the lamp for reading or working, glare-freedom and brightness at your seat matter; more on this in the guide to working in an eye-friendly way. With an uplighter near curtains or shelves, the shade should keep enough distance from flammable materials. For questions about the mains connection or any work on the electrics: if in doubt, consult a qualified electrician.

Quick answers

Frequently asked questions

Open only the answer you need right now.

What does separately switchable mean for uplighters?

The main light and the reading lamp can be switched on and off independently, and often dimmed individually too. The GIACOMO, marctronic and Lindby listings state this explicitly.

How bright does an uplighter with a reading lamp need to be?

That depends on the size of the room and the role of the lamp. As additional light, less is enough than as a replacement for the ceiling light; the guide on lumens per room gives guidance.

Can I dim the reading lamp independently of the uplighter?

On models with separate control, yes, for example on the GIACOMO and the Lindby according to the listing. For the others, you should clarify this with the seller before buying.

Is an uplighter suitable with a dark ceiling?

Only to a limited extent, because a dark ceiling reflects less light. Light, even surfaces above the lamp are the precondition for the indirect effect.

Which colour temperature suits reading in the evening?

Warm white is usually more pleasant in the evening, cooler light more for concentrated work. The listings for the models give ranges from 2,700 or 3,000 to 6,000 or 6,500 kelvin.

Are the manufacturer details verified?

No, we have not measured anything. The values come from listings, data sheets and EPREL entries, with no documented hands-on testing.